LElauren

Lauren Evans
Thank you Lauren for giving the members of Bratz World your wise and wonderful words!
From MGA about Lauren's interview: "That's lovely!" Thank you! :)


What was your first time singing, in a non in-the-shower kind of thing :)? Was there a moment you can recall that was the moment you realized you wanted to do music "for real"?

I began recording music when I was 11 years old. I was kind of introduced to it as a hobby, something fun to do. My father was a singer, pianist, and songwriter and he and his writing partner would get together and record in the studio periodically.

It wasn't until I was working as a professional in the Music Industry that it dawned on me that I had a natural ability to sing and that I could do it as a career. LOL.

How did you find out about the Bratz CD and TV show and how did you get involved?

A couple friends of mine were called to work on the music for the show and when they needed a singer, they called me. I've been the singing voice behind Bratz ever since! I sing pretty much everything- theme song included.

The most recent release that I'm on is the Bratz Genie Magic cd. I'm singing all but 2 songs.
LEbratzgeniemagic

What are the other things you have also done, I see you have some amazing credits!

Let's see... When I was 14, I was the youngest person featured on The Prince of Egypt soundtrack.
LEprinceegypt
I do many of the background vocals for The Cheetah Girls and Raven Symone. I've been doing a lot of tv appearances this year singing background for Natasha Bedingfield. All these things have been a lot of fun! My greatest pride and joy, however, is my debut solo cd that will be released next year. It's still in process, but I'm really excited about it!

What was the weirdest job you have had (musical or other jobs)?

I've never had any particularly weird jobs, but one of the strangest things I've ever had to do in a song is whistle. By the way, it's impossible to whistle and laugh at the same time.

Do you get nervous when you go to the studio on a new project? How do you cope with that if thats true. Any tips for not being nervous in new situations?

I've never been nervous in the studio- it's kind of like my other home. The stage is a totally different arena, though. It's tough sometimes to get up in front of a bunch of people and be vulnerable. So, occassionally, I get some nervous butterflies.
LEbutterflies
One way to cure nervousness is to be silly or active. I find if I can laugh, or do a cartwheel, or jumping jacks, or some sit ups I don't feel nervous anymore. Those butterflies are only pent up energy that wants to come out. What's really the worst that could happen?

You are very pretty and have a cool fashion sense- how would you describe your look and tastes? Any health tips, things you do and eat to stay fit?

Thank you. :-) I consider myself to be a true artist in the sense that I look at fashion the same way I look at a blank canvas, anything's possible. I can make it up as I go along. I like mixing colors, textures, and styles. I like to borrow ideas from different cultures and people from all walks of life- whether it's preppy, grunge, high drama, bohemian, goth, western, whatever, It's fun to see how they all work together.

As far as health is concerned, I know it sounds cliche, but eating fruits and vegetables, drinking lots of water, staying away from junk food, and staying active really are some awesome health tips.
LEfruitsveggies
If doing these things regularly is difficult, take it slow. Integrate one thing at a time into your lifestyle and I guarantee you'll feel great!

For people that want to be singers like you what are the real things you go through like how much do you practice, what kinds of things do you avoid or do to keep your voice strong? Any tips on you want to share that have helped you in your career?

First and foremost, be sure that you truly are a singer- that you have a natural ability to sing. We've all seen American Idol, nobody likes to learn the hard way. It's a tough lesson, but it's true. I'm not very good at math, I woudn't even try to be an engineer.

Honeslty, I don't really formally practice. My vocal warm ups are typically done in my car or bedroom while singing along to one of my favorite singers. I avoid screaming (or forcing my voice to do something it doesn't want to) because the vocal chords are like muscles, they get stronger the more you use them and you don't want to overexert your muscles because they can tear or strain. I also keep my throat covered with a scarf if it's cold, for the same reason that dancers use leg warmers- to protect the muscles and keep them from cramping.

A good friend of mine told me that if you want to reach your goals, surround yourself with people who are smarter than you who have more experience in the things you desire to pursue. It's amazing how much you can learn from a few conversations and by following someone around for a day. Building good relationships with people is key, you never know where your "big break" will come from.

What other interests/hobbies do you have? Do you have pets?

Hmmm, I like to go out for high tea on occassion. (You know with the cute little tea sandwiches, scones, and sweets),
LEHightea
I like movies with off humor- like The Royal Tenenbaums and Cold Comfort Farm, I also like to go on hikes and picnics.

I currently don't have any pets. My strangest pet was a goose named Princess (I hatched her for the 4th grade science fair). My next pet will be a Boston Terrier puppy, but I'm not sure what I'll name it yet.
LEboston_terrier

Do you have any Bratz Dolls? Which are your favorites if you do.

I was given a Genie Magic Sasha as a gift for doing the cd, but I gave her away to a little girl who is probably having way more fun with her. I think all of the Bratz dolls are cute. If only they made the clothes a little bigger...hmm
LESasha

LOL I know what you mean!

Is there any message you would like to give the members of Bratz World?

To give is always far more rewarding than to receive. The culture we live in is very "me, myself, and I" centered, but the truth is there are a lot of people out there, millions, who need food, shelter, clothing, and love. We live in a big world filled with beatiful wildlife and magnificent nature- trees, rivers, oceans, streams. It's very easy to be comfortable and forget that we're all part of and if we don't do what we can to help it, we will lose it.
LEforest

I take pleasure in being able to sponsor a child in Africa, or going to the Phillipines to distribute food and clothing in a poor community. I love to help people, to cheer up a friend in need, to recycle, to help the neighbor's kid learn how to read. It's a great feeling to give. I think everyone should try it daily.

Anything else you'd like to share about yourself?

I love to get new messages and make new friends on my website. Check it out periodically for updates. That's all folks!

Thanks so much for taking time for us, you are a truly inspiring person :)

Lauren Evans Website!
www.LaurenEvans.com
LElauren

Read all the cool Bratz World interviews!

Brennan Hillard Interview
Nikki SooHoo Interview
Lauren Evans Interview
Marie Saint Pierre Interview

Google